Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Best Vocal Performance of 2013

Nominees:
Ailee – U&I
Jung Joon Young – Spotless Mind
Jaurim – Icarus
Lee Hi – Rose
Xia Junsu – 11am
Kang Seung Yoon – Stealer
Busker Busker – Love, At First
Lim Kim – Rain
K.Will – You Don’t Know Love
SPICA – Tonight

My pick: I don’t care as much, but it would be Ailee.
Why: Ailee is talented to say the least and her vocal performance in U&I is great, though I prefer her songs from the past album and her featuring here and there. Lee Hi did also a great job with Rose, though I think she might not be as good as Ailee. Even though SPICA has members with some of the best vocal ability I’ve seen in a while, Tonight (or any of their songs) didn’t showcase the vocals performance that well. It’s more a song where you cannot single out any specific part and say “Wow”, it’s a whole and it’s fine like that, it’s a great song. Maybe a more acoustic-ballad song would do that and could make everyone see how talented they are.
Left out: Where to start? I would say maybe Jay Park for Welcome, any song with Hyorin in it, maybe Urban Zakapa, definitely Andamiro, J Rabbit, The Nuts, Lee Hyori for Amor Mio, Younha, Davichi, Seo In Young for Let’s Break Up, and I’m sure I’m forgetting a few.
Prediction: Either Xia or Kang Seung Yoon, but I think Xia will win, because he’s Xia…

